Flag of Peru

Latin America consists of all the Portuguese-speaking and Spanish-speaking countries of South America. Note that since these countries were all colonies of Spain or Portugal, they have many similarities!

South America is bounded on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean and the west by the Pacific Ocean. North America and the Caribbean Sea are located in the northwest. The South American range is typically considered from northern Colombia to southern Chile! 

Note that the equator passes through this continent and the Amazon River, as well as the Amazon rainforest, are located on this continent.

Twelve independent states, as well as several different territories, make up this area, which together cover about 13% of the land area (covering an area of 17,840,000 square kilometers)! 

The population of South America in 2016 is estimated at more than 420 million people!

That in addition to the twelve independent states, there are two non-autonomous regions called the French Guiana, as well as the Falkland Islands in South America, the former of French ownership and the latter part of the British Overseas Territories. 

It should be noted, however, that in some divisions, Trinidad and Tobago, Panama, as well as a number of Antilles belonging to the Kingdom of the Netherlands, are also part of this area.

South American countries:

  • Argentina
  • Uruguay
  • Ecuador
  • Brazil
  • Bolivia
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Chile
  • Columbia
  • GuyanaThe Continent of America is one of the largest continents on Earth, consisting of three parts: South America, Central America, and North America. South America is located in the western hemisphere and also in the southern part of the Americas. This region, also known as Latin America, is sometimes considered a separate continent.
  • French Guiana
  • Venezuela

By reading this article, let’s know some South American countries


Argentina is one of the countries in South America that has very beautiful nature and many historical and recreational attractions. Argentina is the eighth largest country in the world and can be said to be one of the most popular tourist destinations in South America.

Flag of Argentina

The flag of Argentina consists of three horizontal stripes of the same size in light blue and white. In the center of this flag, the image of the May sun appears in white. The current design of the country’s flag was registered as the national flag in 2012, while the country’s first flag was used on February 27, 1812.


Brazil is the largest country in South America and is home to the best footballers in the world. It is interesting to know that many tourists think that Rio de Janeiro is the capital of Brazil, but this information is not true. It was the country’s capital until 1960, but then moved to the city of Brasilia in the center of the country, where the Brazilian government is based. Rio de Janeiro is the state capital of the same name, not the capital of the entire country.

Flag of Brazil

The 27 five-pointed stars on the Brazilian flag symbolize every state and federal district in the country. On the blue circle of the Brazilian flag, there is a white stripe that reads: “Order and Progress.” If you look more closely, you will see that all the five-pointed stars are below the white bar, and only one star can be seen above this bar. The star Spica is a symbol of part of the territory of Brazil in the Northern Hemisphere and the state of Pará.

The yellow color of the Brazilian flag indicates the country’s gold reserves, and the green symbolizes the vast Amazon jungle and the Atlantic War.


Colombia shares a border with the Caribbean and the Atlantic Ocean, which is why it is so attractive and exciting in nature. The capital is Bogota and is considered the beating heart of Colombia. Other cities in the country are Cartagena, Medellin, Popayan, Santa Marta, Barranquilla and Cali. We suggest you to do more tourism in Bogota and Cartagena and visit its natural and historical attractions.

What is most popular in the country are the Caribbean sandy beaches, the Pacific Ocean and the Andes Mountains and the Amazon rainforest, which is probably why they say no dissatisfied visitors leave the country.

Flag of Colombia

The current flag of Colombia designed with three colors: yellow, blue and red. The flag was first designed by Francisco de Miranda in Haiti while Simon Bolivar was preparing for the independence of the Colombian Republic. Yellow represents the richness of Colombian gold. The blue actually represents the two oceans that lie in the north and west of Colombia. Red represents the blood of soldiers who fought and were killed for the independence of Colombia, and also represents the blood of Christ and the Christian beliefs of the Colombians.


The country is located in the western part of the Andes Mountains and has a diverse and unique natural landscape. The capital of Bolivia is called La Paz and is located at an altitude of 3650 meters above sea level and therefore has earned the title of the highest capital in the world. It should be noted that this city has its own special programs and special attractions for every taste. In the eastern lowlands of Bolivia there are Amazon rainforests

Flag of Bolivia

The Bolivian flag was adopted on October 31, 1851, and ratified by decree of July 14, 1888. The flag consists of three parallel horizontal lines of red color at the top, yellow in the middle and green at the bottom, and the Bolivian national emblem is in the center of the yellow line in the center of the yellow line. In the flag of Ghana, a large black five-pointed star is seen in the middle of the yellow bar.

The Bolivian flag also has a 15:22 ratio.


It is one of the most important countries in the world in terms of electricity generation. This is due to the location of the Paran. River on the southeastern side of the country and the existence of the Itaipu Dam, which was built jointly with Brazil on this river.

Paraguay has a temperate and subtropical climate with heavy rainfall in the eastern part of the country and an almost arid climate in the western part.

Asuncion is the capital of Paraguay and its other important cities are San Lorenzo, Ciudad del Este and Pedro Juan Incarnation.

Flag of Paraguay

The flag of Paraguay consists of three horizontal stripes of the same size red at the top, white in the middle and blue at the bottom, with a white stripe with two different symbols on the front and back. The sign on the flag is the national emblem of Paraguay, which consists of a yellow five-pointed star inside a green garland with the words REPUBLICA DEL PARAGUAY written around it, which themselves are arranged in two circles. A yellow lion is formed at the bottom of the red hat of freedom and the words PAZ Y JUSTICIA meaning peace and justice are written around it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *